Meet the team

DECaDE is a partnership between the University of Surrey, University of Edinburgh, and the Digital Catapult.

We are Hiring!

DECaDE launched October 2020 and is now hiring for several posts, including a full time centre manager, and several research fellow and PhD student positions all available for immediate start!

Socio-technical research focus

DECaDE builds upon world-leading expertise at the intersection of Artificial Intelligence (AI) and Distributed Ledger Technologies (DLT) within Surrey’s Centre for Vision Speech and Signal Processing (CVSSP). These technical capabilities fuse with expertise in socio-economic modelling and digital business transformation within Surrey Business School’s Centre for Digital Economy (CoDE), and people-centric security and trusted systems within the Surrey Centre for Cybersecurity (SCCS). Edinburgh brings world-class human factors and design expertise via Centre for Design Informatics (CDI). DECaDE incorporates SCRIPT within Edinburgh Law School; an AHRC law and technology research centre focusing on the relationship between law, technology, commerce and society. Co-creation is driven through the Digital Catapult via both its DLT Field Labs and machine intelligence garage engaging diverse private and public sector end-users.

Who we are

Investigators

Prof. John Collomosse, DECaDE Director
Professor, Centre for Vision Speech and Signal Processing (CVSSP).
j.collomosse@surrey.ac.uk
+44 (0)1483 686035
More Info
Prof. Glenn Parry, DECaDE Co-Director
Professor, Centre for Digital Economy (CoDE).
g.parry@surrey.ac.uk
+44 (0)1483 684307
More Info
Prof. Steve Schneider
Professor, Director Surrey Centre for Cyber Security (SCCS).
s.schneider@surrey.ac.uk
+44 (0)1483 689637
More Info
Prof. Chris Speed
Professor, Centre for Design Informatics (CDI).
c.speed@surrey.ac.uk
+44 (0)7917 225815
More Info
Dr. Dave Murray-Rust
Senior Lecturer, Director Centre for Design Informatics (CDI).
d.murray-rust@ed.ac.uk
+44 (0)131 650 2971
More Info
Prof. Burkhard Schafer
Professor, Director SCRIPT, School of Law.
b.schafer@surrey.ac.uk
+44 (0)131 650 2035
More Info
Dr. Robert Learney
Head of Technology - Distributed Systems, Digital Catapult.
robert.learney@digicatapult.org.uk
More Info
Dr. Libby Kinsey
Lead Technologist AI/ML, Digital Catapult.
libby.kinsey@digicatapult.org.uk
More Info

Operations

Ian Crawford
Project Manager AI/ML & Distributed Systems, Digital Catapult.
ian.crawford@digicatapult.org.uk
More Info

Researchers

Dr. Ella Tallyn
Research Associate, Centre for Design Informatics.
etallyn@ed.ac.uk
More Info
Dr. Jonathan Rankin
Researcher, Centre for Design Informatics.
jrankin2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
More Info
Dr. Tu Bui
Research Fellow, Centre for Vision Speech and Signal Processing (CVSSP).
t.v.bui@surrey.ac.uk
More Info
Mike Brookbanks
Visiting Research Fellow, Surrey Centre for Digital Economy.
mike.brookbanks@gmail.com
More Info
Andy Baloiu
DLT/Blockchain Technologist, Digital Catapult.
andrei.baloiu@digicatapult.org.uk
More Info

Doctoral Students

Alex Jermakov
PhD Student, Content Provenance, CVSSP Surrey.
a.jermakov@surrey.ac.uk
More Info